Executive Committee's membership by year of admission of members

UNHCR Advisory Committee established in 1951

The following fifteen members

Australia France Switzerland Austria Germany Turkey Belgium Holy See United Kingdom United States Brazil Israel

Denmark Italy Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of*

The UNREF Executive Committee established in 1955

The same fifteen members as the Advisory Committee, plus:

Colombia the Netherlands as of 1957 Greece Canada Norway

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Uganda

Namibia

India

Russian Federation

Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme, 1958

The same twenty-one members as the UNREF Executive Committee, plus:

China as of 1996 as of 2008 Sweden Ireland Benin Tunisia Luxembourg Yugoslavia, Socialist Federal Republic of** as of 1997 Montenegro the Republic of North Macedonia****

Poland as of 1963 South Africa Algeria as of 1999 Lebanon

Madagascar Mozambique Nigeria

Tanzania, United Republic of as of 2000 Chile as of 1967 Côte d'Ivoire

Bulgaria as of 2001 as of 1979 Cameroon Argentina Mexico Congo Finland Croatia as of 2002 Japan Togo Lesotho Ecuador

as of 2003

Yemen

Republic of Korea

Morocco Guinea New Zealand Nicaragua Serbia** Sudan Thailand

Democratic Republic of the Congo*** Cyprus as of 1982 Kenya

as of 1988 as of 2004 Pakistan Egypt Somalia Zambia

as of 1991 as of 2005 **Philippines** Ghana Romania as of 1993

as of 2006 Ethiopia Hungary Jordan Portugal as of 1994

as of 2007 Spain Estonia as of 1995 Costa Rica Bangladesh

Turkmenistan as of 2012 Azerbaijan Rwanda as of 2014

as of 2009

as of 2010

Slovenia

as of 2011

Republic of Moldova

Djibouti

Afghanistan Belarus Czech Republic Latvia Peru Senegal Slovakia

as of 2015 Armenia Chad Georgia Uruguay

As of 2017 Fiji Lithuania Paraguay

As of 2018 Zimbabwe

As of 2019 Burkina Faso Iceland Mali Malta

As of 2021 Malawi

Total = 107

On 17 November 2004, the United Nations was informed that the short name of Venezuela had been changed to Venezuela (Bolivaria Republic of).

In 2002 following the dissolution of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (after the secession of Croatia, Slovenia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Bosnia and Herzegovina), the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Montenegro and Serbia) was admitted as a new member. On 4 February 2003, the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia informed the United Nations that it had changed its name to Serbia and Montenegro. On 3 June 2006, following the Declaration of Independence adopted by the Republic of Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia (Serbia) informed the United Nations that it would continue the United Nations membership previously held by Serbia and Montenegro.

On 20 May 1997, the Republic of Zaïre was renamed the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

On 12 February 2019, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia was renamed the Republic of North Macedonia.