The HRT and Efi Latsoudi receive the 2016 Nansen Refugee Award at a ceremony in Geneva, for their outstanding work during 2015 when they helped thousands of refugees arriving in Greece.
© UNHCR/Mark Henley

Nansen Refugee Award

2017 winner to be announced in September.

The Nansen Refugee Award is a celebration of individuals, groups and organizations who dedicate their lives to supporting people displaced from their homes by war and conflict. 

Established in 1954, in memory of the first High Commissioner for Refugees, Fridjtof Nansen, the Award is a prestigious humanitarian honor. 

This year, the identity of five finalists will be revealed ahead of the announcement of the 2017 Nansen Refugee Award winner. 

But who are the finalists? And who is our inspirational winner? Keep checking the UNHCR global channels for announcements!

Latest updates

Efi Latsoudi and the Hellenic Rescue Team won in 2016. Watch the ceremony highlights

Emi Mahmoud 'Bird Watching on Lesvos Island'

Aqeela Asifi is turning girls' dreams into reality in Pakistan

In 2015 Aqeela Asifi won the Nansen Refugee Award. Investing most of her prize fund into extending her school, Asifi has now made the impossible possible – refugee girls can now continue their education past the age of 14.

News and StoriesStories