Previous Nansen Winners

Continuing the Nansen legacy

Since 1979, Nansen Laureates started to receive a cash prize of USD 50,000 which was later increased to USD 100,000, donated by the governments of Norway and Switzerland.

The Nansen Refugee Award monetary prize aims at enabling its annual recipient to pursue a project to assist displaced people, developed in close consultation with UNHCR.

In the coming months, we will be sharing stories of previous Nansen winners and how they are changing lives. For the latest news, follow #NansenAward on social media.

Featured Nansen winners

Dr. Kanai: bringing Azeri lives into focus

2006 Nansen Refugee Award winner brings team of optometrists to Azerbaijan on annual vision aid missions. For thirty years the Japanese doctor has improved the lives of more than 130,000 displaced people.

News and StoriesStories

Congolese nun named winner of prestigious Nansen Refugee Award

Sister Angélique Namaika wins for her work helping the survivors of displacement and abuse by the Lord's Resistance Army in Democratic Republic of the Congo.

read story

News and StoriesNews

Nansen Refugee Award presented to Somali winner "Mama" Hawa

The former refugee Hawa Aden Mohamed is honoured for her extraordinary service, under difficult conditions, on behalf of displaced women and girls.

News and StoriesNews

In photos: The Nansen laureates