Home > Nansen Refugee Award > Nomination


Call for Nominations

The 2015 deadline for nominations is 6 February 2015.

Do you know an exceptional person who has gone beyond the call of duty and shown outstanding dedication and service to the displacement cause? Or maybe a group of people or an organization?

Anyone can nominate a candidate (individuals, groups of people or organizations) for UNHCR’s Nansen Refugee Award. Current or former UNHCR staff are ineligible. Self-nominations are strongly discouraged.

Nomination Form

Download the nomination form here (English, French) and send it to: nansen@unhcr.org

Selection Process

The Nansen Refugee Award Committee is an independent body of experts who select the annual laureate with a majority decision.


What distinguishes the Nansen Refugee Award laureate?

Every Nansen Refugee Award laureate spends an extraordinary amount of time and effort to help the forcibly displaced:

  • The laureate’s work goes beyond the call of duty and outside of normal activities;
  • The laureate’s work demonstrates courage – the laureate might at times face personal risk for their work;
  • The laureate’s work should have a direct positive impact on the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless people.