تأمل كارمن أن تلهم نساء أخريات من خلال عملها.

فرت كارمن مع ابنتها من العنف في كولومبيا.

تقول كارمن بيرييا التي تبلغ من العمر 41 عاماً: “أدعى كارمن بيرييا. ولدت في بوينافنتورا في كولومبيا، وأعيش حالياً في الإكوادور. أصنع الأحذية للنساء. تركت بلادي بسبب العنف الدائر هناك. اضطررت إلى الفرار بعد أن قُتل شقيقي. كان الوضع خطيراً للغاية، ولم أستطع تربية بناتي في مثل هذا المكان حيث يسود العنف.

أتيت إلى الإكوادور منذ 10 أعوام وشاركت في حملة اندماج اللاجئين هنا وأصبحت المتحدثة باسم حملة SmileWeAreIntegrating#. وبفضل مشاركتي، التقيت إيل ميراندا، وهي مصممة أحذية شهيرة في الإكوادور. وبالتعاون معها، صمّمنا حذاءاً مفتوحاً مزيناً بأشرطة يحمل اسماً تجارياً هو “تحبني” من تصميم إيل. ويمثل الاسم النضال اليومي لكل امرأة تريد تحسين حياتها. ونعتقد بأننا إذا أحببنا أنفسنا وآمنا بأنفسنا، نستطيع تحسين ليس حياتنا فحسب، بل حياة أطفالنا أيضاً.

لقيت ترحيباً حاراً من شعب وحكومة الإكوادور. وقد كانت هذه تجربة جيدة لأسرتي الصغيرة على صعيد التطور والفرص”.

تعتقد كارمن بأن أحذيتها هي رمز للنضال اليومي للمرأة بما أنها تمثل الأناقة والشجاعة. وتستمتع كارمن بخياطة القطع معاً لصناعة هذا الحذاء المفتوح المزين بأشرطة. وهذه الصنادل هي نتيجة تعاونها مع مصممة الأحذية من الإكوادور، إيل ميراندا. وتقدّم هذه الشراكة فرص العمل للنساء اللواتي يتمكن بكل فخر من إعالة عائلاتهن.

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (1)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (5)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (7)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_featured

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (3)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (4)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (6)

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (2)

فرت كارمن بيرييا من الإكوادور في عام 2006 بعد موت شقيقتها. ودفعها هذا الحادث المأساوي إلى الفرار من مدينة بوينافينتورا التي وُلدت فيها وسط أعمال العنف. وتُعتبر كولومبيا ثاني دولة في العالم من حيث عدد النازحين داخلياً – الذي يقدر بـ6.5 مليون شخص- بعد سوريا.

شهدت بوينافنتورا العنف والصراع على مدى خمسة عقود. وتسجل هذه المدينة الساحلية الصناعية أعلى معدلات العنف والنزوح بسبب القتال بين الجماعات المسلحة غير المشروعة. وغالباً ما تستهدف هذه الجماعات النساء وتلجأ إلى التعذيب والاغتصاب والقتل للانتقام لفرض سيطرتها. وقد وصل حوالي 200,000 لاجئ من كولومبيا إلى الإكوادور منذ عام 2000.

وتحاول كارمن جاهدةً الاندماج في المجتمع الإكوادوري، وقد أطلقت مشروعاً صغيراً لصناعة الأحذية النسائية لهذه الغاية.

عبر عن تضامنك مع اللاجئين مثل كارمن بتوقيع عريضة #مع_اللاجئين اليوم.


هل أعجبتك قصة كارمن؟ شاركها مع أصدقائك.

 نتج عن الصراع المسلح في كولومبيا والذي امتد لخمسة عقود من الزمن ثاني أضخم أزمة نزوحٍ داخلي في العالم حتى يومنا هذا. يوجد هناك حوالي 6.7 مليون نازح داخلياً، أي ما يقارب 13% من عدد السكان، فيما يعتبر 360,000 شخص لاجئين فروا من البلاد، أغلبهم يتواجون في الإكوادور، التي تستضيف العدد الأكبر من اللاجئين في أمريكا اللاتينية.

تشارك المفوضية في الإكوادور في مبادرة الحلول الشاملة التي ساعدت اللاجئين الكولومبيين وطالبي اللجوء في التمتع بحقوقهم بالحصول على الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والتوظيف وقدمت لهم الدعم والاستشارة القانونية.

Pin It on Pinterest

X

Carmen hopes to inspire other women through her work.

She and her daughter fled violence in Colombia.

Carme Perea, 41 years old: “I was born in Buenaventura, Colombia. Right now, I live in Ecuador. I make shoes for women. I left my country because of the violence there. I had to flee after they killed my brother. It was too dangerous. I couldn’t have my daughters raised in such a violent place.

I came to Ecuador 10 years ago. I got involved with the refugee integration campaign here and I became the spokeswoman for #SmileWeAreIntegrating. Because of my collaboration with them, I met Ile Miranda, a famous Ecuadorian shoe designer. Together, we created a gladiator sandal, branded ‘She loved me’ by Ile. The name represents the struggle of the everyday woman who wants to improve her life. We believe that if we love ourselves and believe in ourselves, we can improve not only our lives, but the lives of our children.”

“I have been warmly welcomed by the people of Ecuador, as well as by the Government. It has been a good experience for my small family in terms of development and opportunities.”

Carmen believes that her gladiator shoes are a symbol of the daily struggle of women, representing style and courage. Carmen enjoys sewing the pieces together to make them. The sandals are the product of her collaboration with Ecuadorian shoe designer Ile Miranda.

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (1)

Colombian refugee Carmen hand makes each gladiator sandal in her shoe workshop, while her youngest daughter watches. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (5)

Colombian refugee Carmen spends time with her daughters when she’s not in her workshop creating sandals. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (7)

Colombian refugee Carmen's youngest daughter plays amongst the sandal straps in her mother’s workshop. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS


Carmen with her youngest daughter in her work room. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (3)

Carmen, a Colombian refugee, believes that her work will help to inspire other refugee women to persevere. Carmen fled Buenaventura, Colombia, after her brother was killed. She wanted to raise her daughters in a safe place. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (4)

Colombian refugee Carmen hand-crafts each pair of gladiator sandals in her workshop, often working late into the night. She hopes to inspire other women through her work. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (6)

Colombian refugee Carmen hand-crafts each pair of gladiator sandals in her workshop. Her youngest daughter keeps her company. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

2016WRD_Carmen_Ecuador_ Gallery (2)

Colombian refugee Carmen's brand on her signature gladiator sandals. ©UNHCR / S. ARCOS

Carmen Perea escaped to Ecuador in 2006 after the murder of her brother. This tragic event drove her to flee her native city of Buenaventura in the midst of armed violence. Colombia has the second highest number of internally displaced persons in the world – an estimated 6.5 million people – after Syria.

Buenaventura has suffered from violence and conflict for over five decades. This industrial port city has some of the highest rates of violence and displacement due to fighting among illegal armed groups. These groups often target women and resort to torture, rape and revenge killings to exert control. Some 200,000 refugees from Colombia have arrived in Ecuador since 2000.

Through her tireless work to integrate into Ecuadorian society, Carmen managed to start a small business making footwear for women.

Written by Sonia Aguilar

Show your solidarity with refugees like Carmen by signing the #WithRefugees petition today.

Did you like Carmen’s story? Share it with your friends!

Right Petition Text – INT

Stand #WithRefugees

Sign the petition

Colombia’s five-decade armed conflict has produced the world’s second largest internal displacement situation as of today, after Syria. Approximately, 6.7 million people are internally displaced – around 13 per cent of the entire population. And 360,000 officially recognized refugees have fled abroad, most to Ecuador – which hosts the largest number of refugees in Latin America.

In Ecuador, UNHCR is involved in a Comprehensive Solutions Initiative which has helped Colombian refugees and asylum-seekers enjoy their rights to health, education, employment and housing, and provided them with legal support and advice.