



UNHCR Award for Statelessness Research

Tilburg University's Statelessness Programme and UNHCR invite academic institutions to nominate excellent research by undergraduate, graduate and doctoral researchers in the field of statelessness for the newly established UNHCR Award for Statelessness Research. Three awards from a total prize pool of \in 3,000 will be granted to the best research at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels.

The deadline for nominations is 17:00 hours, Greenwich Mean Time, 1 May 2014.

2014 Nomination Guidelines

Topic:

Any work that offers a clear contribution to increasing understanding of the nature and scope of the problem of statelessness, identifying stateless populations and understanding the reasons which have led to statelessness, in particular in regions or within disciplines where little research has been done, may be nominated for the Award. Research exploring other topics directly relating to statelessness may also be nominated, including such questions as the operation of legal safeguards to prevent the occurrence of statelessness, the denial or deprivation of nationality resulting in statelessness, protection frameworks for stateless persons and experiences of statelessness from historic, economic, anthropological, sociological, psychological or political perspectives.

Eligibility:

Nominations may cover research in any discipline. The research may be theoretical in nature or incorporate empirical and/ or field research. All nominations must meet the benchmarks in terms of methodology and analysis that are applicable within the relevant discipline. Any research completed in the year prior to the nomination deadline is eligible: nominations are accepted for any work completed between the 1st of May 2013 and the 1st of May 2014. Only work written in the English language is eligible for nomination. There are no word limits in any of the categories.

The three nomination categories are:

- A. Undergraduate dissertation, or non-disseration work of a comparable level by an advanced undergraduate or graduate student
- B. Graduate (masters) dissertation, or work of a comparable level by a doctoral student (published or presented paper/article)
- C. Doctoral thesis

Jury:

An internal jury composed of members of Tilburg Law School will conduct a pre-selection of nominations, screening for eligibility and quality. The most accomplished works will be forwarded to members of an International Expert Jury. The Jury comprises two permanent members:

- Mr. Mark Manly (chairperson of the Jury), Head of the Statelessness Unit, on behalf of UNHCR
- Dr. Laura van Waas, Senior Researcher and Manager, on behalf of the Statelessness Programme

The other Jury members will be drawn during the years 2013 - 2015 from the following experts who have committed their support to this award:

- Prof. Kohki Abe, Kanagawa University, Japan
- Prof. Khadija Elmadmad, Casablanca University, Morocco
- Prof. René de Groot, Maastricht University, the Netherlands
- Dr. Sriprapha Petcharamesree, Mahidol University, Thailand
- Dr. Benyam Mezmur, University of the Western Cape, South Africa
- Prof. Kim Rubenstein, Australian National University, Australia
- Prof. Peter Spiro, Temple University, United States
- Prof. Carmen Tiburcio, Rio de Janeiro State University, Brazil

Nomination procedure:

All nominations must be submitted by or on behalf of the member of the academic staff who has been involved in supervising the student's work and can testify as to its quality. Each university can nominate a maximum of two students per award category. For each nomination, the information listed below must be submitted, using the *nomination form* which can be downloaded from the Statelessness Programme's website.

All nominations must contain the following information:

- 1) Basic details regarding the nominated work, to be submitted by the nominating member of academic staff, including:
 - a. The name, contact details, title and affiliation of the nominating member of academic staff
 - b. The name and contact details of the student whose work is nominated
 - c. The title of the work nominated
 - d. The award category for which the work is nominated (A- Undergraduate; B Graduate or C Doctoral)
 - e. The date of completion (i.e. date of defense/grade/publication/presentation)
 - f. The research discipline
 - g. The program in which the student is/was enrolled (field and level of study, degree title)
 - h. Where relevant: the course for which a non-dissertation paper was completed or the place of publication / presentation of a paper / article by a doctoral student
- 2) Endorsement of max. 200 words by the nominating member of academic staff
- 3) Bio of max. 200 words detailing relevant research experience and interests of the author, including contact details
- 4) Abstract of max. 500 words of the nominated work by the author
- 5) Full text of the work that has been nominated

Nominations should be submitted as PDF files to <u>Statelessness.Award@tilburguniversity.edu.</u> Where it is not possible to provide the nomination or work in digital format, hard copies can exceptionally be submitted. In this case, six copies should be sent to: Statelessness Programme, Tilburg Law School, P.O. Box 90153, 5000 LE Tilburg, The Netherlands.

The deadline for nominations is 17:00 hours, Greenwich Mean Time, 1 May 2014.

Selection:

Winners in each category will be chosen by an international jury comprised of a UNHCR representative and leading academics and practitioners working on statelessness. Nominated research will be judged on the following criteria:

- ✓ Contribution to increasing understanding of the nature and scope of the problem of statelessness, identifying stateless populations and understanding the reasons which have led to statelessness;
- ✓ Timeliness and importance of selected topic;
- ✓ Quality of research
- ✓ Quality of writing

Award:

Winners will be announced in September 2014. In addition to prize money, winners will receive an award certificate signed by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. They will also be invited to write a short article about their research which will be posted on the Statelessness Programme's blog site.