MEMBER STATES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE HIGH COMMISSIONER'S PROGRAMME

UNHCR's governing body – the Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme (ExCom) – was created in 1958, pursuant to a request by the General Assembly. Its main tasks are to approve the High Commissioner's assistance programmes, advise the High Commissioner in the exercise of his/her functions (mainly on protection issues), and oversee the Office's finances and administration.

ExCom holds an annual session in Geneva every October. The sixty-fifth session was held from 29 September to 3 October 2014. Meetings of ExCom's Standing Committee are held at various dates throughout the year.

Membership is on the widest possible geographical basis from those States (members of the United Nations and others) with a demonstrated interest in, and devotion to, the solution of refugee problems. In 2014, the 94 members were:

Afghanistan	Ghana	Portugal
Algeria	Greece	
Argentina	Guinea	Republic of Korea
Australia		Republic of Moldova
Austria	Holy See	Romania
Azerbaijan	Hungary	Russian Federation
	1035	Rwanda
Bangladesh	India	
Belarus	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Senegal
Belgium	Ireland	Serbia
Benin	Israel	Slovakia
Brazil	Italy	Slovenia
Bulgaria		Somalia
	Japan	South Africa
Cameroon	Jordan	Spain
Canada		Sudan
Chile	Kenya	Sweden
China		Switzerland
Colombia	Latvia	
Congo	Lebanon	Thailand
Costa Rica	Lesotho	The former Yugoslav
Côte d'Ivoire	Luxembourg	Republic of Macedonia
Croatia		Togo
Cyprus	Madagascar	Tunisia
Czech Republic	Mexico	Turkey
	Montenegro	Turkmenistan
Democratic Republic	Morocco	
of the Congo	Mozambique	Uganda
Denmark	•	United Kingdom of Great
Djibouti	Namibia	Britain and Northern Ireland
	Netherlands	
Ecuador	New Zealand	United Republic of Tanzania United States of America
Egypt	Nicaragua	Officed States of Afficia
Estonia	Nigeria	Venezuela
Ethiopia	Norway	(Bolivarian Republic of)
Finland	Pakistan	Yemen
France	Peru	Telliell
	Philippines	Zambia
Germany	Poland	