## **Annexes**

## **ExCom Members**

UNHCR's governing body – the Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme (ExCom) – was created in 1958, pursuant to a request by the General Assembly. Its main tasks are to approve the High Commissioner's assistance programmes, advise the High Commissioner in the exercise of his/her functions (mainly on protection issues), and oversee the Office's finances and administration.

ExCom holds an annual session in Geneva every October. The fifty-sixth session was held from 3 to 7 October 2005. Meetings of the Executive Committee's Standing Committee are held at various dates throughout the year.

Membership is on the widest possible geographical basis from those States (members of the United Nations and others) with a demonstrated interest in, and devotion to, the solution of refugee problems. In 2005, the 68 members were:

|                                  | Guinea                     | Philippines                 |
|----------------------------------|----------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Argentina                        | Holy See                   | Poland                      |
| Australia                        | Hungary                    | Republic of Korea           |
| Austria                          | India                      | Romania                     |
| Bangladesh                       | Iran (Islamic Republic of) | Russian Federation          |
| Belgium                          | Ireland                    | Serbia and Montenegro       |
| Brazil                           | Israel                     | Somalia                     |
| Canada                           | Italy                      | South Africa                |
| Chile                            | Japan                      | Spain                       |
| China                            | Kenya                      | Sudan                       |
| Colombia                         | Lebanon                    | Sweden                      |
| Côte d'Ivoire                    | Lesotho                    | Switzerland                 |
| Cyprus                           | Madagascar                 | Thailand                    |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | Mexico                     | Tunisia                     |
| Denmark                          | Morocco                    | Turkey                      |
| Ecuador                          | Mozambique                 | Uganda                      |
| Egypt                            | Namibia                    | United Kingdom              |
| Ethiopia                         | Netherlands                | United Republic of Tanzania |
| Finland                          | New Zealand                | United States of America    |
| France                           | Nicaragua                  | Venezuela                   |
| Germany                          | Nigeria                    | Yemen                       |
| Ghana                            | Norway                     | Zambia                      |
| Greece                           | Pakistan                   |                             |