Almaty Process: FAQ

What is the goal of the Almaty Process?

The Almaty Process aims to address the multiple challenges resulting from mixed migration dynamics and enhance regional cooperation and coordination on mixed migration.

When was the Almaty Process launched?

The Almaty Declaration was adopted in 2011 and Almaty Process became operationalized in 2013.

How is UNHCR involved in Almaty Process?

UNHCR and International Organization for Migration (IOM) act as the Support Unit for the Almaty Process. The Support Unit provides help with maintaining information, managing communications, organising events, conducting research, monitoring media, mobilizing resources for implementing the Almaty Process activities and fostering links with other partners.

What countries participate in the Almaty Process?

The Almaty Process has Member and Observer States. Member States are Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Turkey, Turkmenistan. Observer States are Islamic Republic of Iran, Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Where can I find more information about Almaty Process?

If you have more questions about the Almaty Process you can contact UNHCR Regional Office for Central Asia at [email protected] or IOM Coordination Office for Central Asia at [email protected].