APPEL
GLOBAL

ACTUALISATION 2021

UNHCR’s first-ever Youth with Refugees Art Contest was launched in April 2020 amid the COVID-19 pandemic, to encourage young people aged 12-25, to reflect creatively on the theme: “Everyone counts in the fight against the virus, including refugees.” Some 2,000 participants from 100 countries submitted drawings and comic strips. Mr. Alfa Mukange, 25, a Congolese refugee in Kenya, is one of the global winners. © UNHCR/Alfa

Alors que cette année tumultueuse touche à sa fin, le HCR se tourne vers l’avenir et réfléchit à la manière de relever les défis de 2021 et au-delà. La pandémie de COVID-19 a touché les pays du monde entier, menaçant la santé et les moyens de subsistance des populations tout en aggravant les difficultés auxquelles sont confrontées les 80 millions de personnes déplacées de force dans le monde aujourd’hui. Ces hommes, ces femmes et ces enfants ne peuvent être oubliés et nous ne pouvons pas laisser la pandémie détourner l’attention de la satisfaction de leurs besoins urgents ni de la recherche de solutions à leur sort.

Le HCR lance un appel pressant à ceux qui ont les moyens de continuer à soutenir la réponse humanitaire dans le monde entier. L’heure est venue de faire preuve de solidarité internationale avec les plus vulnérables, de sauver des vies, de réduire les souffrances, d’améliorer les conditions et d’élargir les opportunités pour les réfugiés, les déplacés internes, les apatrides et leurs hôtes, afin qu’ils puissent réaliser leur plein potentiel

L’actualisation 2021 de l’Appel Global fournit des informations aux gouvernements, aux pays hôtes, aux donateurs privés et aux autres partenaires sur les priorités de l’organisation et les activités budgétisées pour atteindre ces objectifs au cours de l’année à venir.

Le HCR
en 2021

Deux fillettes réfugiées originaires d’Afghanistan marchent en se tenant la main dans le camp informel jouxtant le centre d’accueil et d’identification de Moria sur l’île de Lesbos, en Grèce. © HCR/Achilleas Zavallis

Pour s’acquitter des responsabilités issues de son mandat

icon money

Le HCR a besoin de

icon people of concern

afin d’aider un nombre estimé de

PERSONNES RELEVANT DE SA COMPÉTENCE*

icon globe

dans

PAYS ET TERRITOIRES

* Alors que les chiffres des populations pour 2019 – qui montrent quelque 80 millions de personnes déplacées de force – reflètent des statistiques vérifiées, ceux pour 2020 et 2021 sont des chiffres prévisionnels. Ces chiffres sont basés sur l’évolution prévue des situations au cours de l’année de planification, et prennent en compte les effectifs actuels des populations, leur croissance démographique moyenne, les mouvements attendus, ainsi que les changements dans le statut des personnes relevant de la compétence du HCR.

Estimations 2021

Les besoins continuent d’augmenter

icon people of concern

80 MILLIONS

de personnes sont déplacées de force dans le monde.

icon children

24 MILLIONS

d’enfants dans le monde ont été poussés à franchir des frontières par les conflits et la violence.

icon stateless

4,2 MILLIONS

de personnes sont apatrides selon les données disponibles.

icon protection

La COVID-19

a exacerbé les risques de violence de genre pour les femmes et les filles et souligné les inégalités et discriminations existantes.

icon health

85% DES RÉFUGIÉS

sont accueillis dans des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire où les systèmes de santé sont souvent surchargés

icon education

2 MILLIONS

d’enfants et jeunes réfugiés sont déscolarisés en raison des fermetures d’écoles obligatoires liées à la COVID-19.

icon household

74%

des réfugiés ne peuvent satisfaire que la moitié ou moins de leurs besoins fondamentaux.

icon returnee

46%

de baisse du nombre de réfugiés qui ont pu être rapatriés volontairement durant 2019, par rapport à 2018.

icon resettlement

1,4 MILLIONS

de réfugiés auront besoin d’être réinstallés en 2021.

Populations relevant de la compétence du HCR

Selon les estimations, un nombre record de 97,3 millions de personnes relevant de la compétence de l’organisation devrait être atteint en 2021

Pour répondre à des crises nouvelles, prolongées ou qui se détériorent et génèrent des besoins plus importants, le budget du HCR, basé sur les besoins, s’élèvera à 8,616 milliards de dollars en 2021.

 

Initiatives mondiales en 2021

La pandémie de COVID-19

La pandémie de COVID-19

Malgré des décennies d’expérience, l’urgence du coronavirus est inégalée durant les 70 ans d’histoire du HCR. Aucun bureau ou opération du HCR n’a jamais été confronté à une crise de cette ampleur – encore moins tous en même temps. Le HCR prévoit qu’un investissement considérable et soutenu sera nécessaire en 2021 pour répondre aux effets de la pandémie mondiale sur les personnes relevant de sa compétence. Les nouveaux domaines prioritaires pour l’année à venir incluront les soins de santé primaires et secondaires, la protection, les aides en espèces, les moyens de subsistance et l’éducation.

L’engagement du HCR en faveur des situations de déplacement interne

L’engagement du HCR en faveur des situations de déplacement interne

Des catastrophes soudaines et d’autres plus lentes ont entrainé 9,8 millions de nouveaux déplacés internes au cours du premier semestre 2020. Le HCR continuera de déployer sa politique pour les déplacés internes et de renforcer sa réponse aux situations de déplacements internes en 2021, guidé par certains engagements clés, notamment en faveur de la position centrale de la protection, la résilience et les solutions, l’amélioration des données et une direction de la coordination dotée de ressources suffisantes.

L'engagement du HCR dans l'action climatique en 2021

L’engagement du HCR dans l’action climatique en 2021

Les effets du changement climatique touchent de manière disproportionnée les personnes les plus vulnérables du monde, les réfugiés et les personnes déplacées étant souvent accueillis dans des « points chauds climatiques » ou dans des régions devenues de plus en plus inhabitables. Le changement climatique peut également engendrer de nouveaux déplacements et créer des obstacles au retour. Le changement climatique et ses effets revêtent donc une importance à la fois juridique et opérationnelle pour le travail du HCR et l’ont conduit à renforcer son action en matière de climat autour de trois piliers stratégiques : au niveau juridique et normatif pour le compte des personnes déplacées ; en vue de minimiser l’impact environnemental lié au déplacement de grandes populations et pour améliorer sa propre empreinte écologique.

Le Pacte mondial sur les réfugiés

Le Pacte mondial sur les réfugiés

La communauté internationale a continué à se mobiliser pour soutenir la réalisation des quatre objectifs du Pacte et, malgré la pandémie de COVID-19, la mise en œuvre des 1400 engagements pris par les gouvernements et les autres parties prenantes lors du Forum mondial des réfugiés de 2019 enregistre des progrès satisfaisants. À l’approche de la première réunion de haut niveau prévue pour décembre 2021, l’engagement politique continu en faveur du Pacte mondial a été impressionnant, son principe central de solidarité étant plus pertinent que jamais.

Partenariats

Partenariats

En 2021, le HCR renforcera le travail qu’il mène avec ses partenaires pour développer la protection et les solutions, notamment en approfondissant sa collaboration avec les acteurs du développement, de la paix et de la sécurité. Le processus de réforme des partenariats avec les ONG actuellement en cours devrait aboutir à des accords simplifiés en 2021 et laisser plus de champ aux réflexions stratégiques et à l’engagement. Un nouveau cadre régissant l’action du HCR auprès des organisations et des réseaux dirigés par des réfugiés sera également élaboré, et une attention particulière sera accordée aux relations avec les organisations confessionnelles et celles de la société civile dirigées par des femmes.

Résultats planifiés

Une jeune demandeuse d’asile afghane assiste à un cours près du centre d’accueil et d’identification de Vial à Chios, en Grèce. © HCR/Achilleas Zavallis

Au cours de l’année, avec le soutien des pays hôtes, des donateurs engagés et d’autres partenaires, le HCR s’efforcera de sauvegarder les droits fondamentaux, de fournir une aide vitale et de construire un avenir meilleur pour des millions de réfugiés, de rapatriés, de déplacés internes et d’apatrides.

Sauvegarder les droits fondamentaux

icon people of concern

Enregistrement

19 millions de dossiers individuels seront enregistrés dans l’écosystème d’enregistrement de la population et de gestion de l’identité (PRIMES) du HCR.

icon people of concern

Apatridie

90 000 apatrides bénéficieront d’un soutien pour acquérir une nationalité ou voir leur nationalité confirmée.

icon child protection

Protection de l’enfance

Au moins de 70% de mineurs isolés feront l’objet d’une procédure de détermination de leur intérêt supérieur (lancée ou terminée).

icon community protection

Protection communautaire

85% des opérations du HCR disposeront de mécanismes opérationnels de plaintes et de réactions, y compris dans le contexte des réponses liées à la pandémie de COVID-19

Apporter une aide vitale

icon money

Aides en espèces

700 millions de dollars d’aides en espèces seront distribuées aux personnes relevant de la compétence du HCR dans 95 opérations.

icon health

Santé

(Y compris santé mentale et soutien psychosocial)

40% des pays d’accueil disposant d’un régime d’assurance maladie national incluront les réfugiés dans les mêmes conditions que leurs ressortissants.

180 000 consultations seront assurées pour des problèmes mentaux, neurologiques et de toxicomanie dans les centres de soins pour réfugiés.

icon water

Eau, assainissement et hygiène

45% de la population assistée aura accès à 20 litres d’eau potable minimum par jour.

Abri

Abris et installations

4,75 millions de personnes relevant de la compétence du HCR seront ciblées pour bénéficier d’une aide en matière d’abris en 2021.

Construire
un avenir meilleur

icon education

Éducation

2 millions d’enfants seront inscrits à l’école primaire.

500 000 enfants et jeunes réfugiés bénéficieront d’un enseignement à distance ou à domicile dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19.

icon people of concern

Moyens de subsistance et inclusion économique

50% des personnes relevant de la compétence du HCR âgés de 15 ans ou plus détiendront un compte bancaire courant (un compte bancaire mobile ou un compte auprès d’une institution financière).

Environnement

Énergie et protection de l’environnement

2,9 millions de personnes relevant de la compétence du HCR auront accès à des sources d’électricité durables.

icon resettlement

Réinstallation

80 000 réfugiés seront réinstallés grâce au HCR.

A tous les donateurs, gouvernementaux et privés, le HCR adresse ses plus sincères remerciements pour leur soutien en 2020 et pour l’année à venir.

Un réfugié syrien joue avec sa petite fille sur le toit-terrasse de sa maison à Barja, au Liban.

© HCR/Diego Ibarra Sánchez

Pour plus d’informations, consulter
le site internet Global Focus

Pour en savoir plus sur la manière dont le travail du HCR en 2021 aura un impact sur la vie de millions de réfugiés, de demandeurs d’asile, de rapatriés, de déplacés internes et d’apatrides, consulter l’Appel global 2021 Update du HCR ou le site Internet Global Focus.

Pin It on Pinterest

GLOBAL
APPEAL

2021 UPDATE

UNHCR’s first-ever Youth with Refugees Art Contest was launched in April 2020 amid the COVID-19 pandemic, to encourage young people aged 12-25, to reflect creatively on the theme: “Everyone counts in the fight against the virus, including refugees.” Some 2,000 participants from 100 countries submitted drawings and comic strips. Mr. Alfa Mukange, 25, a Congolese refugee in Kenya, is one of the global winners. © UNHCR/Alfa

As this tumultuous year comes to a close, UNHCR is looking ahead at how to address the challenges of 2021 and beyond. The COVID-19 pandemic has affected countries throughout the world, threatening people’s health and livelihoods while compounding challenges faced by the 80 million people forcibly displaced in the world today. These men, women and children cannot be forgotten and we cannot allow the pandemic to distract from meeting their urgent needs while searching for solutions to their plight.

UNHCR appeals in the strongest terms for those with means to continue to support the humanitarian response around the world. Now is the time to demonstrate international solidarity with the most vulnerable, to save lives, reduce suffering, improve conditions and expand opportunities for refugees, IDPs, stateless persons, and their hosts, so that they can realize their potential.

The 2021 Global Appeal Update provides information for governments, host countries, private donors, and other partners about the Office’s priorities and budgeted activities to achieve these goals in the coming year.

UNHCR
in 2021

Two young refugees from Afghanistan hold hands in an informal camp adjacent to the Moria reception and identification centre on Lesbos, Greece. © UNHCR/Achilleas Zavallis

To fulfill its mandated responsibilities

icon money

UNHCR requires

icon people of concern

to support an anticipated

PEOPLE OF CONCERN*

icon globe

in

COUNTRIES AND TERRITORIES

* While the population figures for 2019—which show some 80 million forcibly displaced people—reflect verified, statistics, those for 2020 and 2021 are planning figures. These figures are based on the anticipated evolution of situations during the planning year, and take into account the current population size, the average population growth, expected movements, as well as changes in the status of people of concern to UNHCR.

UNHCR 2021 Planning figures

The needs continue to grow

icon people of concern

80 MILLION

people are forcibly displaced in the world.
icon children

24 MILLION

children around the world have been driven across borders by conflict and violence.
icon stateless

4.2 MILLION

people are known to be stateless.
icon protection

COVID-19

has exacerbated the risks of gender-based violence for women and girls, highlighting existing inequalities and discrimination.
icon health

85% OF REFUGEES

are hosted in low-and middle-income countries, where health systems are often overstretched.
icon education

2 MILLION

refugee children and youth are out of school as a result of mandatory school closures due to COVID-19.
icon household

74%

of refugees can only meet half or less of their basic needs.

icon returnee

46%

reduction in the number of refugees who were able to voluntarily repatriate by the end of 2019, as compared to 2018.
icon resettlement

1.4 MILLION

refugees will be in need of resettlement in 2021.

Populations of concern to UNHCR

A record 97.3 million people are anticipated to be of concern to the Office in 2021.

In response to new, protracted or worsening crises generating greater needs, UNHCR’s 2021 needs-based budget will amount to $8.616 billion.

 

Global initiatives in 2021

The COVID-19 pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic

Despite decades of experience, the coronavirus emergency has been unlike any seen throughout UNHCR’s 70-year history. Never has every UNHCR office and operation faced a crisis of this magnitude—all at the same time. UNHCR anticipates that considerable and sustained investment will be needed in 2021 to respond to the effects of the global pandemic on people of concern.  Emerging priority areas for the coming year will include primary and secondary health care, protection, cash assistance, livelihoods and education.

UNHCR’s engagement in situations of internal displacement

UNHCR’s engagement in situations of internal displacement

Sudden and slow-onset disasters triggered 9.8 million new internal displacements in the first half of 2020. UNHCR will continue to roll out its IDP Policy and strengthen its response to IDP situations in 2021, guided by certain key commitments, including ensuring the centrality of protection, resilience and solutions; better data; and well-resourced coordination leadership.

UNHCR’s climate action in 2021

UNHCR’s climate action in 2021

The impacts of climate change disproportionately affect the world’s most vulnerable people, with refugees and IDPs often hosted in “climate hotspots” or regions being rendered increasingly uninhabitable. Climate change can also drive new displacement and create barriers to return. Climate change and its effects are of both legal and operational relevance to UNHCR’s work, leading the Office to step up its climate action under three strategic pillars: legal and normative work on behalf of the displaced, minimizing the environmental impacts of large-scale displacement, and improving UNHCR’s own environment footprint.

The Global Compact on Refugees

The Global Compact on Refugees

The international community has continued to mobilize support for the achievement of the Compact’s four objectives and, despite the COVID-19 pandemic, the implementation of the 1,400 pledges made by governments and other stakeholders at the 2019 Global Refugee Forum is progressing well. The continued political commitment to the Global Compact in 2021 is impressive in the lead up to the first High-Level Official’s Meeting in December 2021, with the Compact’s central principle of solidarity more relevant than ever.

Partnerships

Partnerships

In 2021, UNHCR will strengthen its work with partners to advance protection and solutions, including by furthering collaboration with development, peace and security actors. The ongoing NGO partnership reform process is expected to result in simplified agreements in 2021, leaving more room for strategic discussions and engagement. A new framework for UNHCR’s work with refugee-led organizations and networks will also be developed, and particular focus will be placed on relationships with faith-based actors and women-led civil society organizations.

Planned results

A young asylum-seeker from Afghanistan attends class near the Vial reception and identification centre on Chios, Greece. ©UNHCR/Achilleas Zavallis

Over the year, with the support of host countries, committed donors, and other partners, UNHCR will work to safeguard fundamental rights, provide life-saving support and build better futures for millions of refugees, returnees, internally displaced people and stateless persons.

Safeguard fundamental rights

icon people of concern

Registration

19 million individual records will be registered in UNHCR’s population registration and identity management ecosystem (PRIMES).

icon people of concern

Statelessness

90,000 stateless persons will be supported to acquire a nationality, or have it confirmed.

icon child protection

Child protection

70% or more of unaccompanied or separated children will have a best interests process initiated or completed.

icon community protection

Community-based protection

85% of UNHCR operations will have functioning complaints and feedback mechanisms in place, including in the context of responses to COVID-19.

Respond with life-saving support

icon money

Cash assistance

$700 million in cash assistance will be provided to people of concern across 95 operations.

icon health

Health

(including mental health and psychosocial support)

40% of refugee-hosting countries with national health insurance schemes will include refugees on the same basis as nationals.

180,000 consultations will be provided for mental, neurological and substance use conditions in refugee health facilities.

icon water

Water, hygiene and sanitation

45% of people of concern will have access to at least 20 litres of safe water per day.

Shelter

Shelter and settlement

An estimated 4.75 million people of concern will be targeted with shelter assistance in 2021.

Build
better futures

icon education

Education

2 million children will be enrolled in primary education.

500,000 refugee children and youth will be supported with distance or home-based learning in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

icon people of concern

Livelihoods and economic inclusion

50% of people of concern aged 15 or older will hold a basic financial account (a mobile money account or an account with a financial institution).

Environment

Energy and environmental protection

2.9 million refugees and other people of concern will have access to sustainable sources of electricity.

icon resettlement

Resettlement

80,000 refugees will be resettled through UNHCR.

To all donors—governmental and private—UNHCR extends its most sincere thanks for your support in 2020 and the year to come.

A Syrian refugee plays with his little daughter on the rooftop of their house in Barja, Lebanon.
© UNHCR/Diego Ibarra Sánchez

For more information visit the
Global Focus website

Learn more about how UNHCR’s work in 2021 will impact the lives of millions of refugees, asylum-seekers, returnees, internally displaced and stateless persons by reading UNHCR’s Global Appeal 2021 Update or visiting the Global Focus website.

Pin It on Pinterest