Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website


UNHCR’s Representation in Canberra promotes refugee rights in Papua New Guinea, Fiji, the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Six of these Pacific States are parties to the 1951 Refugee Convention. The Pacific Island countries host more than 11,800 persons of concern, with the majority living in PNG and Fiji.

UNHCR supports Pacific Island countries through capacity building, technical advice on protection and solutions, and engages in refugee status determination under mandate or through joint procedures. Although the number of asylum seekers and refugees in the region is relatively small, the impact of any new arrivals is significant at both operational and policy levels due to other pressing priorities which constrain government resources to respond to asylum seeker, refugee and statelessness issues.

Additional information

For information about our work in Samoa:


Are you a refugee or asylum-seeker in Samoa? Find information about your rights and available services on our HELP site.

Text color
Regional website

Visit the UNHCR regional website (UNHCR Regional Representation in Canberra) for more information on our work in the region and the latest local news and stories.

Pale blue
Text color
Legislation and guidance

For legislation, case law and UNHCR policy relating to claims for international protection, visit Refworld.

Text color