Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website

Media - Nansen Refugee Award 2022

Media - Nansen Refugee Award 2022

Dr. Angela Merkel, the former Federal Chancellor of Germany, will receive the 2022 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award.

Four regional winners – from Mauritania, Costa Rica, Myanmar and Iraq – have also been named.

Given annually since 1954, the award recognizes extraordinary individuals, groups and organizations who have gone above and beyond to find sustainable solutions for refugees, internally displaced people and those who are stateless.
Germany. Dr. Angela Merkel honoured for 'true leadership' in protecting refugees

2022 Global Laureate – UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

Press release
Global Laureate: Media Assets
Ceremony Livestream

19:45 CEST on 10 October 2022

2022 Regional Winners – UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

Africa regional winner

Americas regional winner

Asia and the Pacific regional winner

Middle East and North Africa (MENA) regional winner

Fridtjof Nansen's legacy and work