## **ExCom Members**

## Member States of the Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme (as at 31 December 2004)

UNHCR's governing body – the Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme (ExCom) – was created in 1958, pursuant to a request by the General Assembly. Its main tasks are to approve the High Commissioner's assistance programmes, advise the High Commissioner in the exercise of his/her functions (mainly on protection issues), and oversee the Office's finances and administration.

ExCom holds an annual session in Geneva every October. The fifty-fifth session was held from 4 to 8 October 2004. Meetings of the Executive Committee's Standing Committee are held at various dates throughout the year.

Membership is on the widest possible geographical basis from those States (members of the United Nations and others) with a demonstrated interest in, and devotion to, the solution of refugee problems. In 2004, the 66 members were:

Algeria	Guinea	Pakistan	
Argentina	Holy See	Philippines	
Australia	Hungary	Poland	
Austria	India	Republic of Korea	
Bangladesh	Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Russian Federation	
Belgium	Ireland	Serbia and Montenegro	
Brazil	Israel	Somalia	
Canada	Italy	South Africa	
Chile	Japan	Spain	
China	Kenya	Sudan	
Colombia	Lebanon	Sweden	
Côte d'Ivoire	Lesotho	Switzerland	
Cyprus	Madagascar	Thailand	
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Mexico	Tunisia	
Denmark	Morocco	Turkey	
Ecuador	Mozambique	Uganda	
Egypt	Namibia	United Kingdom	
Ethiopia	Netherlands	United Republic of Tanzania	
Finland	New Zealand	United States of America	
France	Nicaragua	Venezuela	
Germany	Nigeria	Yemen	
Greece	Norway	Zambia	