MEMBER STATES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

UNHCR's governing body – the Executive Committee of the High Commissioner's Programme (ExCom) – was created in 1958, pursuant to a request by the General Assembly. Its main tasks are to approve the High Commissioner's assistance programmes, advise the High Commissioner in the exercise of his/her functions (mainly on protection issues), and oversee the Office's finances and administration.

ExCom holds an annual session in Geneva every October. The fifty-ninth session was held from 6 to 10 October 2008. Meetings of the Executive Committee's Standing Committee are held at various dates throughout the year.

Membership is on the widest possible geographical basis from those States (members of the United Nations and others) with a demonstrated interest in, and devotion to, the solution of refugee problems. In 2008, the 76 members were:

Algeria Argentina Australia Austria

Bangladesh Belgium Benin Brazil

Canada Chile China Colombia Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Cyprus

Democratic Republic of the Congo Denmark

Ecuador Egypt Estonia Ethiopia

Finland France

Germany Ghana Greece Guinea Holy See Hungary

India Iran (Islamic Republic of) Ireland Israel Italy Japan Jordan

Kenya

Lebanon Lesotho Luxemburg

Madagascar Mexico Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Namibia

Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Nigeria Norway

Pakistan Philippines Poland Portugal Republic of Korea Romania Russian Federation

Serbia Somalia South Africa Spain Sudan Sweden Switzerland

Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Tunisia Turkey

Uganda United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Republic of Tanzania United States of America

Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Yemen

Zambia