

Participants List

Second Global Roundtable on Reception and Alternatives to Detention. Toronto, 20-22 April 2015

- Alison Samedi, Head of Asylum Policy, Home Office, United Kingdom
- Analía Isabel Cascone, Coordinator, National Commission for the protection and assistance of asylum-seekers and refugees, National Public Defenders Office, Argentina
- Anderson Selvasegaram, Executive Director, SUKA Society, Malaysia
- Andrew Lorenzen-Strait, Deputy Assistant Director, Enforcement and Removal Operations –
 US Immigration and Customs Enforcement, United States of America
- Ben Lewis, Advocacy Coordinator, International Detention Coalition
- Brahim Lahyani, Senior Police Commissioner, Ministry of Interior, Morocco
- Bruce Smith, Acting Chief Immigration Officer, Immigration Department, Cayman Islands
- Daniel Solomon, Legal Advisor of Population, Immigration and Border Authority, Ministry of Interior, Israel
- Dave Scott, Toronto Bail Program, Canada
- **Dimitris Christopoulos**, Advisor to Minister of Interior, Migration and Citizenship, Greece
- Emmanuel Grupper, Head of the School of Education and Social Studies, Ono Academic College, Israel
- Fernando Alonso Becerra Pinales, Director of the Protection Unit, COMAR (National Refugee Commission), Mexico
- François Crépeau, UN Special Rapporteur Human Rights of Migrants, United Nations
- Franz Manderson, Deputy Governor, Ministry of Home and Community Affairs, Cayman Islands
- Geertrude van Tujil, Bridge to Better Foundation, Netherlands
- Gintaras Valiulis, Senior Adviser to the Public Security Policy Department, Ministry of Interior, Lithuania
- Grant Mitchel, Director, International Detention Coalition
- **Greg Kipling**, Director General, Policy, Planning and Research, Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB), Canada
- Irene Ritman, Supervising Policy Advisor Ministry of Safety and Justice, Migration Department, Asylum, Reception & Return, Netherlands

- Isabelle Plumat, Head of the UASC Unit, L'Agence federale pour l'accueil des demandeurs d'asile (Fedasil), Belgium
- Iwona Przybyłowicz, Counselor at the Department for Foreigners, Border Guard HQ, Poland
- Jacob Mphepo, Commissioner for Refugees, Zambia
- Jerome Phelps, Director, Detention Action, United Kingdom
- Jong-Chul Kim, Director, Advocates for Public Interest Law, Republic of Korea
- Katrine Camilleri, Director, Jesuit Refugee Service, Malta
- Kerry Neal, Senior Child Protection Specialist (Justice for Children), UNICEF
- **Kevin White**, Director General, Strategic Communication and Partnership Branch, Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB), Canada
- Laurence Hart, Head Migrant Assistant Division, International Organisation for Migration
- Lilian Tsourdi, Researcher, Odysseus Network, Belgium
- Marc Linning, Protection Coordinator, Washington DC, ICRC
- Mary Giovagnoli, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Immigration Policy, Department of Homeland Security, United States of America
- Mieko Ishikawa, Director, Forum for Refugees, Japan
- Monik Beauregard, Director General, Enforcement and Intelligence Program Directorate, Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Canada
- Moola Milomo, Director General for Immigration, Department for Immigration, Zambia
- Nicole Lefebvre, Manager, Hearings and Detentions, Inland Enforcement Division, Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Canada
- Sir Nigel Rodley, UN Human Rights Committee (former Chairperson), United Nations
- Paul Vrbanac, Director of Enforcement and Intelligence Operations Division, Greater Toronto Enforcement Centre, Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Canada
- Peter Orosz, Consul, Embassy of Hungary in Ottawa, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Hungary
- **Pol.Lt.Col. Prawit Sirithon**, Deputy Superintendent, Investigation Division, Immigration Bureau, Thailand
- Rachel Sharvit, Senior Deputy Director General, Director of Division of Correctional Services, Ministry of Welfare and Social Services, Israel
- Robyn Sampson, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
- Stephanie J. Silverman, University of Toronto, Canada
- Steve Jack, Assistant Chief Immigration Officer (Ag.), Ministry of National Security, Immigration Division, Trinidad & Tobago

- Susan Bibeau, Deputy Chairperson, Immigration Division, Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB), Canada
- Tim Parritt, Programme Officer, Oak Foundation, United Kingdom
- Vivien Vadasi, Head of Division for Migration, Department of EU Cooperation, Ministry of Interior, Hungary
- Carlos Omar Herrera Matías, Chief of Protection, Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Consulate of Mexico in Toronto.

UNHCR

- Janice Marshall, Deputy Director, Law and Policy, Division of International Protection, UNHCR, Geneva HQ
- Furio De Angelis, Representative, UNHCR Canada
- Alice Edwards, Senior Legal Coordinator and Chief, UNHCR, Geneva HQ
- Leslie Velez, Senior Protection Officer, UNHCR, ROWAS
- Rana Khan, Legal Officer, UNHCR Canada
- Ariel Riva, Legal Officer, UNHCR, Geneva HQ
- Marie Huberlant, Global Strategy Specialist, UNHCR, Geneva HQ

UNHCR April 2015