Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website


UNHCR’s South Africa Multi-Country Office (SAMCO) serves nine countries: Botswana, Comoros, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles, and South Africa.

Together they host approximately 260,521 people of concern to UNHCR, 250,250 of whom are hosted in South Africa. Countries of origin of refugees and asylum-seekers include Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Somalia, and Zimbabwe.

Ending statelessness, enhancing the protection environment, and strengthening partnerships are priorities in the region.

Additional information

For information about our work in the Comoros:

Legislation and guidance

For legislation, case law and UNHCR policy relating to claims for international protection, visit Refworld.

Pale blue
Text color

Office contact details

For information about our operation in Comoros, please contact us through our Headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland.