'
;

FAQ of Donation

As our donors and supporters, you will probably want to have the answers to some basic questions about UNHCR, our work as well as where and how your money will be used.

 

The following will help you to make an informed decision.

  1. What is UNHCR?
  2. Who is a refugee?
  3. How many people does UNHCR care for?
  4. What is the breakdown of UNHCR’s budget?
  5. While governments, corporate and foundations can usually give more, why do you want to spend money to raise fund from individual donors?
  6. How much is spent on refugee programmes versus overhead?
  7. How is this money used to help refugees?
  8. Is my donation tax-deductable?
  9. Why don’t you use volunteers to do fundraising and related administration in order to save more for helping refugees?
  10. Does UNHCR work with partners?
  11. How can I learn more?

1. What is UNHCR?

The UN refugee agency is formally known as the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). Established in 1951, we are responsible for helping refugees in 135 countries. UNHCR has a specific mandate to protect and assist refugees worldwide. We also help stateless people and millions of people displaced within their countries.

When people are forced to flee their homes because of war or persecution, they turn to UNHCR for assistance. We offer them food, shelter, water, medical attention, sanitation and security, while working to find lasting solutions to their plight. When possible, we help refugees and other displaced people return home voluntarily and safely. If necessary, we help them settle in another country where they can start a new life.

UNHCR is non-political and we help all refugees, regardless of race, religion, political opinion or gender. We focus on their humanitarian needs and rights, especially those of women and children.

2. Who is a refugee?

The 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees defines a refugee as “a person who, owing to well-founded fear of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion, is outside the country of his nationality and is unable or, owing to such fear, is unwilling to avail himself of the protection of that country.”

3. How many people does UNHCR care for?

At the end of 2019, the number of people of concern to UNHCR stood at 79.5 million. These included 26 million refugees,  4,570 million internally displaced people and 420 million asylum seekers. Over half of these are women and children.

UNHCR operates in 135 countries. We are active in nearly all refugee situations and crises worldwide. From Colombia to Kenya and from Iraq to Afghanistan, UNHCR is there to help uprooted people. We provide basic services, offer legal protection, and work to develop lasting solutions for refugees and other displaced people.

4. What is the breakdown of UNHCR’s budget?

UNHCR’s annual budget is revised every year. Voluntary contributions from governments, foundations, corporations and generous people like you accounted for about 99 percent of our total budget. Some 1 percent comes from the UN regular budget, which is spent entirely on administration costs – meaning more of YOUR money goes to where it is needed most. As needs continue to grow, UNHCR is seeking greater support from individual donors, corporations and foundations.

5. While governments, corporate and foundations can usually give more, why do you want to spend money to raise fund from individual donors?

We welcome all donations, but financial gifts from individual donors give particular satisfaction because of their very personal nature. If you, as a private citizen, donate money towards the operations we run worldwide, it means that you are reaching out to another individual in desperate need of help.

A government can give money on behalf of its people, or a company on behalf of its staff, but it is something special when ordinary citizens dig into their pockets or purses to contribute to UNHCR.

In fact, committed individual donor can support UNHCR’s work in a sustainable way and it is getting more and more important as a source of income for the agency.

6. How much is spent on refugee programmes versus overhead?

UNHCR has spent 84% on delivery of refugee programmes; 5.5%  on maintaining a strong organization, 10.5% on field operations support, raising funds and voices for refugees.

7. How is this money used to help refugees?

All of our programmes are designed to help find lasting solutions to refugees’ problems, whether it’s helping them return home or settle in other countries. The agency’s work around the world falls under these main sectors: shelter, health care and nutrition, income generation, water and sanitation, education, legal assistance and protection.

All programmes and sectoral projects are intended to mitigate the harsh circumstances in which refugees find themselves and to create opportunities to re-establish their lives. Special focus is given to the most vulnerable, especially women, children, older people and those living with disabilities.

8. Is my donation tax-deductable?

Yes, you can make a tax-deductable donation and get a proper receipt for this purpose.

9. Why don’t you use volunteers to do fundraising and related administration in order to save more for helping refugees?

UNHCR is almost entirely funded by direct, voluntary contributions – the bulk of it from donor nations. We get important contributions from non-governmental organizations (NGO) and the private sector, including corporations, trusts, foundations and individual citizens.

This means that UNHCR must compete with other humanitarian agencies, including UN sister organizations, for a limited amount of humanitarian funding. The situation has become tougher with the onset of the global economic crisis, with prices rising and both government and corporate donors tightly controlling limited aid budgets.

That’s why it is important to have highly professional, knowledgeable and dedicated fund-raising teams, who have helped UNHCR meet targets in the more competitive environment of recent years. These committed staff members also produce detailed reports to ensure a high standard of transparency and accountability.

10. Does UNHCR work with partners?

Yes, the work we do would be impossible without extensive cooperation with our partners in the field. UNHCR works with different non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and with many other intergovernmental and UN agencies to deliver services directly to refugees. We also work closely with governments to support safe and respectful asylum policies, to negotiate refugee camp locations and security, and to guarantee safety for refugees upon their return home.

11. How can I learn more?

We would be pleased to provide you with additional information or answer any questions you may have. Please contact us by email [email protected] or telephone (+852) 2388 3278.

You can also register to receive UNHCR’s E-newsletters and Like our Facebook page, where you will find daily updates of refugees’ stories and our latest work. .

'
;

捐助常見問題

作為我們的捐款者及支持者,你很可能會想了解更多關於聯合國難民署的工作以及如何使用你的捐款。

 

以下希望能讓你了解更多聯合國難民署。

  1. 聯合國難民署是什麼?
  2. 何謂難民?
  3. 有多少人受到聯合國難民署保護?
  4. 聯合國難民署的經費從何而來?
  5. 既然政府、企業及基金會通常都能提供更多的資金,為什麼要向個人捐款者的籌款工作上投放資源?
  6. 有多少款項投放在難民項目上? 多少於營運開支上?
  7. 你們如何使用這些款項以幫忙難民?
  8. 我的捐款是否能從稅務中扣除?
  9. 為什麼你們不直接請義工幫助籌款及做相關的行政工作,以節省更多開支去幫助難民?
  10. 聯合國難民署有與伙伴合作嗎
  11. 我可以如何了解更多?
  12. 我可以如何改變月捐金額?
  13. 我可以如何更改我的聯絡資料? 

1. 聯合國難民署是什麼?

聯合國難民署於1950年成立,我們的責任是為全球135個國家的難民提供援助。難民署受委託去保護及幫助難民。此外,我們也為無國籍人士、尋求庇護者、返回者,以及數千萬名國內流離失所者提供協助,當中包括兒童、婦女及老人。七十多年以來,聯合國難民署一直幫助受難者重建他們的生活。

每當人們因戰爭和迫害而逃離家園,他們會向聯合國難民署尋求協助。我們為他們提供食物、庇護所、清潔食水、衛生服務、醫療、保護等支援,同時幫助他們尋找長遠的解決方案,脫離困境。若果可行,我們會幫忙難民及流離失所者,在安全的情況下自願返回家園。如有需要,我們會幫助他們重新安置於第三國,讓他們能過新生活。

聯合國難民署是政治中立的機構,我們幫助所有難民,無分種族、宗教、政見和性別。我們專注於難民的人道需要及權利,特別是對婦女和兒童的保障。

2. 何謂難民?

根據《1951年關於難民地位公約》, 難民是指有正當理由畏懼由於其種族、宗教、國籍、政治見解或於某一特殊團體遭到迫害,因而逃離了他或她的本國,並由於此畏懼而不能或不願回國的人。

3. 有多少人受到聯合國難民署保護?

至2019年,全球共有7,950萬人流離失所。當中包括2,600萬名難民、4,570萬名國內流離失所者、420萬名尋求庇護人士。其中超過一半的人口是婦女及兒童。

聯合國難民署於135個國家工作。我們活躍於全球幾乎所有存在難民事務及危機的地方。從哥倫比亞到肯亞;從伊拉克到阿富汗,聯合國難民署一直在不同地方幫助失去家園的人士。我們為難民及流離失所者提供基本的服務,法律保護以及幫助他們尋求長遠的解決方案。

4. 聯合國難民署的經費從何而來?

聯合國難民署每年會計算出年度預算。來自政府、基金、機構及像你一樣熱心的支持者自願捐款,一共佔總預算的99%。餘下的1.0%來自聯合國的常規撥款,全數已用於行政工作上 ─這也代表著有更多來自你們的捐款,直接用於幫助最有迫切需要的人。因為需要幫助的人日漸增多,聯合國難民署十分需要個人捐款者、企業及基金會的支持。

5. 既然政府、企業及基金會通常都能提供更多的資金,為什麼要向個人捐款者的籌款工作上投放資源?

我們歡迎所有的捐款,但對於具有個人化特質,來自個人捐款者的款項,份外感到滿足。作為一名市民,如果你捐款支持我們全球性的工作,這代表著你正在幫助脆弱無助的生命。

一個政府能夠代表他的人民,或是一間機構也能夠代表他的員工,作出捐款支持。但當一位普通市民願意自己掏腰包捐款支持聯合國難民署,整件事就變得更加特別,更加有意義。

事實上,每月的定期捐款者更能夠持續地支持聯合國難民署的工作,這些捐款對機構的收入來源也變得越來越重要。

6. 有多少款項投放在難民項目上? 多少於營運開支上?

聯合國難民署有約84%的資金投放在難民救援項目上,約5.5%以建立穩健及專業的組織,而救援項目支援及籌款經費為難民發聲佔總營運開支約10.5%

7. 你們如何使用這些款項以幫忙難民?

我們所有項目的目標都是為難民問題尋找長遠的解決方案,包括協助他們重返家園或安置到第三國。我們於全球的主要工作範疇包括:庇護所、醫療及營養、增加收入、食水及衛生、教育、法律援助及保護等。

所有項目及計劃都是為了減輕難民於惡劣困境時所面對的負擔,以及為他們提供重建新生活的機會。我們特別著重去幫助弱勢的一群,特別是婦女、兒童、長者及身體殘障人士。

8. 我的捐款是否能從稅務中扣除?

可以的,你可以於捐款後,保留捐款收據以作稅務扣除的用途。

9. 為什麼你們不直接招募義工幫助籌款及做相關的行政工作,以節省更多開支去幫助難民?

聯合國難民署接近整體的資金均來自直接及自願性的捐助 ─大部份是來自援助國家。其餘主要資金來自非政府組織、私人機構,包括企業、信託機構、基金會及個人捐款者。

因此一群專業、具豐富知識以及熱誠的籌募團隊是非常重要的。在激烈的競爭環境下,他們仍能幫助聯合國難民署達成目標,為機構撰寫了詳細的報告,以確保高透明度及問責性。

10. 聯合國難民署有與伙伴合作嗎?

有。如果欠缺前線伙伴的合作和支持,我們的工作根本不可能完成。聯合國難民署與不同的非政府組織,還有很多其他政府機構及聯合國機構合作,向難民提供服務。我們也與政府緊密合作,制定嚴謹及安全的尋求庇護政策,協商難民營的地點及保安措施,並保障難民能安全地重返家園。

11. 我可以如何了解更多?

我們很樂意為你提供更多的資訊或是解答你的疑問。請透過電郵 [email protected] 或電話 (+852) 2388 3278 聯絡我們。

你也可以登記訂閱我們的電子通訊及到Facebook 讚好/LIKE 聯合國難民署的專頁,以定期接收聯合國難民署的最新消息。

12. 我可以如何改變月捐金額?

你可以透過電郵[email protected],或電話(+852) 2388 3278聯絡我們的捐款服務組。

13. 我可以如何更改我的聯絡資料?

你可以按此更新捐款者聯絡資料。