Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website

Past Laureates

More than 60 Nansen Refugee Award laureates

The first person to win the Nansen Refugee Award, in 1954, was Eleanor Roosevelt, first chair of the UN Human Rights Commission and former First Lady of the United States.

Since then, more than 60 individuals, groups or organizations have received the Award for their extraordinary service to refugees, displaced and stateless people. Since 2017, we have also recognized several Regional Winners each year for their humanitarian efforts.

The 2022 global laureate was Dr. Angela Merkel, the former Federal Chancellor of Germany.

The Nansen Refugee Award Laureates

  • 2022: Dr. Angela Merkel
  • 2021: Jeel Albena Association for Humanitarian Development
  • 2020: Mayerlín Vergara Pérez
  • 2019: Azizbek Ashurov
  • 2018: Dr. Evan Atar
  • 2017: Zannah Mustapha
  • 2016: Konstantinos Mitragas and Efi Latsoudi
  • 2015: Aqeela Asifi
  • 2014: Butterflies with New Wings Building a Future
  • 2013: Sister Angélique Namaika
  • 2012: Hawa Aden Mohamed
  • 2011: Nasser Salim Ali Al-Hamairy
  • 2010: Alixandra Fazzina
  • 2009: Senator Edward Kennedy
  • 2008: Chris Clark

and many others...