UNHCR’s South Africa Multi-Country Office (SAMCO) serves nine countries: Botswana, Comoros, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles, and South Africa.

Together they host approximately 260,521 people of concern to UNHCR, 250,250 of whom are hosted in South Africa. Countries of origin of refugees and asylum-seekers include Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, Somalia, and Zimbabwe.

Ending statelessness, enhancing the protection environment, and strengthening partnerships are priorities in the region.

For information about our work in Eswatini:

  • For legislation, case law and UNHCR policy relating to claims for international protection, visit Refworld.

Contact Information

For information about our operation in Eswatini, please contact us through our Headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland.