Nepal has a longstanding tradition of providing asylum. The country hosts around 20,000 refugees, including those from Tibet, Bhutan and other states. The main arrivals of refugees took place in 1959 with an influx from Tibet, and again in 1990/1991 with an influx from Bhutan. 

UNHCR supports the Government of Nepal in various programmes to protect and assist refugees in the country. This includes advocacy for legal identity documentation, livelihood programmes to achieve self-reliance, and the inclusion of refugees into policies, public services and the Government of Nepal’s Emergency, Development and SDG planning.

UNHCR works in close partnership with the Ministry of Home Affairs, other key ministries, provincial and local authorities, community-based organizations, development partners, donors, the private sector, NGOs, civil societies, and most importantly, the refugees themselves.

Between 2007 to 2016, UNHCR helped resettle more than 113,500 Bhutanese refugees to eight different countries in one of the largest group resettlement programmes globally.

Please note that UNHCR no longer operates a sub-office in Damak. Instead, please find the contact information of the office in Kathmandu below.

For information about our work in Nepal:

  • For legislation, case law and UNHCR policy relating to claims for international protection, visit Refworld.
  • For up-to-date information about our programmes and operations in Nepal, including funding level and donor contributions, visit Global Focus, UNHCR's reporting portal.

Contact Information

The UNHCR Representation in Nepal

Street Address:
Dhara Marga-1, Anil Kuti, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal

Mailing Address:
P.O Box 2374, Kathmandu, Nepal

977 1 441 4989

977 1 441 2853

[email protected]

Time Zone:
GMT + 5.45

Working Hours:
Monday: 9:00 - 17:30
Tuesday: 9:00 - 17:30
Wednesday: 9:00 - 17:30
Thursday: 9:00 - 17:30
Friday: 9:00 - 17:30

Public Holidays:
03 January 2022, New Year by Gregorian calendar
14 April 2022, Nepali New Year¿s Day
03 May 2022, Eid-Al-Fitr
11 July 2022, Eid-Al-Adha
04 October 2022, Dashain (Nawami)
05 October 2022, Dashain (Dashami)/ Yom Kippur
26 October 2022, Tihar (Mah Puja)
27 October 2022, Tihar (Bhai Tika)
26 December 2022, Christmas