In 2020, Norway reported 1,387 registered asylum-seekers – the lowest number in 30 years – the majority coming from Syria, Eritrea and Turkey.

Norway is covered by the UNHCR’s Representation for the Nordic and Baltic Countries, located in Stockholm, Sweden, which has been active in the region since 1985. The representation is responsible for Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden.

For more information for refugees and asylum-seekers in the Nordic and Baltic Countries, go to this page.

The UN Refugee Agency’s work in the Nordic and Baltic countries focuses on supporting governments in implementing legal instruments related to asylum and statelessness and ensuring that all people of concern to UNHCR in the region enjoy access to their rights in these areas. UNHCR also focuses on raising awareness and mobilizing support for the organization’s global efforts to protect people forced to flee.

For information about our work in Norway:

Contact Information

Norway is covered by the following UNHCR office:

UNHCR Representation for the Nordic and Baltic Countries

Street Address:
Sveavägen 166, 15th fl., 11346 Stockholm, Sweden

Mailing Address:

+46 10 10 12 800

[email protected]

Time Zone:
GMT + 1

Working Hours:
Monday: 09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday: 09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday: 09:00 - 17:00
Thursday: 09:00 - 17:00
Friday: 09:00 - 17:00

Public Holidays:
01 January 2021, New Year's Day
02 April 2021, Easter Good Friday
05 April 2021, Easter Monday
30 April 2021, Walpurgis Day
13 May 2021, Ascension Day
14 May 2021, Eid al Fitr
25 June 2021, Midsummer Eve
20 July 2021, Eid al Adha
05 November 2021, Eve before All Saints Day
24 December 2021, Christmas Eve

Countries covered: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden