UNHCR’s Representation in Canberra promotes refugee rights in Papua New Guinea, Fiji, the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Six of these Pacific States are parties to the 1951 Refugee Convention. The Pacific Island countries host more than 11,800 persons of concern, with the majority living in PNG and Fiji.

UNHCR supports Pacific Island countries through capacity building, technical advice on protection and solutions, and engages in refugee status determination under mandate or through joint procedures. Although the number of asylum seekers and refugees in the region is relatively small, the impact of any new arrivals is significant at both operational and policy levels due to other pressing priorities which constrain government resources to respond to asylum seeker, refugee and statelessness issues.

For information about our work in Samoa:

Contact Information

Samoa is covered by the following UNHCR office:

UNHCR Representation in Canberra

Street Address:
14 Kendall Lane, 2601 Canberra, ACT, Australia

Mailing Address:
14 Kendall Lane, 2601 Canberra, ACT, Australia

61 2 6281 9100

[email protected]

Time Zone:
GMT + 10

Working Hours:
Monday: 8:45 - 17:00
Tuesday: 8:45 - 17:00
Wednesday: 8:45 - 17:00
Thursday: 8:45 - 17:00
Friday: 8:45 - 17:00

Public Holidays:
03 January 2022, New Year's Day (observed)
26 January 2022, Australia Day
15 April 2022, Good Friday
18 April 2022, Easter Monday
25 April 2022, Anzac Day
03 May 2022, Eid Al-Fitr
11 July 2022, Eid Al-Adha (observed)
03 October 2022, Labour Day
26 December 2022, Christmas Day (observed)
27 December 2022, Boxing Day (observed)

Please note that visitors are by appointment only. Countries covered: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. For general inquiries [email protected] For media inquiries [email protected]