Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website




Each year, the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award recognizes several individuals, groups or organizations that have shown exceptional dedication in protecting and assisting refugees, internally displaced or stateless people.
2023 Global Laureate and regional winners attended the 2023 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award ceremony on 13 December in Geneva.
The nomination period for the 2024 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award is now open and will run from January 24 until March 20, 2024. 

If you know of an inspiring candidate, please submit your nomination now. You can use this guide to prepare your answers in advance before submitting the online form here.

For any questions, please write to the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award team at [email protected].

The 2023 global laureate received a commemorative medal and a monetary prize of US$100,000 to be reinvested in the humanitarian initiatives for which they are being recognized. Regional winners also received some financial or material support to further their humanitarian work. 

Text and media 4

The 2023 global laureate is Abdullahi Mire, a journalist and former refugee from Somalia who has championed the right to education while putting 100,000 books in the hands of displaced children and youth in Kenya.

Four regional winners also have been named for taking extraordinary action to protect and assist people forced to flee and stateless people and advance their inclusion in host countries and communities. 


Any questions?

Find responses to common questions regarding the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award, the nomination process, the ceremony, how to get involved, and more.