Close sites icon close
Search form

Search for the country site.

Country profile

Country website



Each year, the UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award recognizes several individuals, groups or organizations that have shown exceptional dedication in protecting and assisting refugees, internally displaced or stateless people.

The nomination period for the 2023 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award, which ran from 23 January until 24 March, has now ended. The winners will be announced in late 2023.

The 2023 global laureate will receive a commemorative medal and a monetary prize of US$100,000 to be reinvested in the humanitarian initiatives for which they are being recognized. Several regional winners will receive a smaller monetary prize to further their humanitarian work.

Last year’s global laureate of the Nansen Refugee Award was Angela Merkel, the former Federal Chancellor of Germany. The Selection Committee cited her leadership, courage and compassion in ensuring the protection of hundreds of thousands of desperate people, as well as her efforts to find viable long-term solutions for those seeking safety.

In addition, four regional winners were honoured for their tireless work to protect refugees and help them integrate into society.

Read more about the 2022 winners and their inspiring stories here.