In 2020, Norway reported 1,387 registered asylum-seekers – the lowest number in 30 years – the majority coming from Syria, Eritrea and Turkey.

Norway is covered by the UNHCR’s Representation for the Nordic and Baltic Countries, located in Stockholm, Sweden, which has been active in the region since 1985. The representation is responsible for Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, and Sweden.

For more information for refugees and asylum-seekers in the Nordic and Baltic Countries, go to this page.

The UN Refugee Agency’s work in the Nordic and Baltic countries focuses on supporting governments in implementing legal instruments related to asylum and statelessness and ensuring that all people of concern to UNHCR in the region enjoy access to their rights in these areas. UNHCR also focuses on raising awareness and mobilizing support for the organization’s global efforts to protect people forced to flee.

For information about our work in Norway:

Contact Information

Norway is covered by the following UNHCR office:

UNHCR Representation for the Nordic and Baltic Countries

Street Address:
Sveavägen 166, 15th fl., 11346 Stockholm, Sweden

Mailing Address:

+46 10 10 12 800

[email protected]

Time Zone:
GMT + 1

Working Hours:
Monday: 09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday: 09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday: 09:00 - 17:00
Thursday: 09:00 - 17:00
Friday: 09:00 - 17:00

Public Holidays:
06 January 2022, Epiphany Day
15 April 2022, Easter Good Friday
18 April 2022, Easter Monday
03 May 2022, Eid al-Fitr
26 May 2022, Ascension Day
06 June 2022, National Day
24 June 2022, Midsummer Eve
11 July 2022, Eid al Adha
26 December 2022, 2nd day Christmas

Countries covered: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden