The Multi-country Office (MCO) Senegal is based in Dakar. It is responsible for operations in Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Togo, Benin, The Gambia, Sierra-Leone, Cabo Verde, and Senegal. There are National UNHCR Offices in Togo, Guinea, and Guinea Bissau. 

As of September 2021, the MCO countries host a total of 46,891 refugees and asylum seekers, most of whom are in protracted situations. 

The overall situation in the MCO countries is one of relative political stability and economic security. Nonetheless, a potential spillover of terrorist operations in Burkina Faso and Niger bordering Benin and Togo has been raising concerns of potential population flows due to insecurity. 

Furthermore, the COVID-19 pandemic that led to the lockdown of economies and the closure of borders had social, economic, and political implications on the livelihoods of refugees and host communities. It undermined the communities’ resilience and hindered access to solutions for protracted refugee caseloads. 

Integration of refugee caseloads has already taken place for years in most contexts, with solutions strategies and roadmaps discussed, agreed upon and partially implemented. 

UNHCR’s proposal, jointly with Governments, of clear legal solutions for naturalization and residence permits for long-staying refugees, is expected to help stabilize PoCs status in the region. 

For information about our work in Senegal:

  • Information for refugees and asylum-seekers in Senegal –
  • For legislation, case law and UNHCR policy relating to claims for international protection, visit Refworld.

Contact Information


Street Address:
FAALO, route du King Fahd Palace (Ex Meridien), 3125 Dakar, Senegal

Mailing Address:
B.P. 3125, Dakar, Senegal

221 33 859 7050

221 33 867 6215

[email protected]

Time Zone:
GMT + 1

Working Hours:
Monday: 08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday: 08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday: 08:00 - 17:00
Thursday: 08:00 - 17:00
Friday: 08:00 - 13:30

Public Holidays:
04 April 2022, Jour de L'Independance
18 April 2022, Lundi de Paques
02 May 2022, L'Aid al-Fitr
26 May 2022, Jour de L'Ascension
06 June 2022, Lundi de Pentecote
11 July 2022, Aid-el-Kebir
08 August 2022, Tamkharit
07 October 2022, Naissance du Prophete Mahomet
01 November 2022, Toussaint
26 December 2022, Noel

Countries cover: Guinea Bissau, Mali, Gambia, Burkina Faso, Niger, Togo, Sierra Leone, Guinea Conakry, Liberia, Ivory Coast,Ghana, Benin, Nigeria and Senegal