'
;

Nansen Refugee Award

The Nansen Refugee Award is given out yearly to a person or group deemed to have performed outstanding services in supporting refugees. The aim of the Award is to focus attention on the plight of refugees and to encourage international assistance and cooperation for them.

Background

Formerly known as the Nansen Medal, this award is named after the late Norwegian arctic explorer Fridtjof Nansen, who was appointed by the League of Nations, predecessor of the United Nations, to be the very first High Commissioner for Refugees in 1921. The award, consisting of a commemorative medal and a US$100,000 monetary prize is given annually to an individual or organization for outstanding work on behalf of refugees.

Born in 1861, Nansen was a scientist, a diplomat, a statesman and a humanist with a deep compassion for his fellow human beings. Eager to learn, Nansen became a pioneer in the field of applied science ranging from zoology, marine biology, oceanography and geology to anthropology and sociology. While still in his twenties, he acquired fame by crossing Greenland on skis in 1889.

But it is for his pioneering work on behalf of refugees that Nansen is most fondly remembered. After the First World War, the League of Nations asked Nansen in 1920 to organize the repatriation of some 450,000 prisoners of war. He succeeded by enlisting the support of governments and voluntary agencies.

Recognized as a charismatic leader, he was made the first High Commissioner for Refugees in 1921 – a post specially created by the League of Nations. He immediately undertook the formidable task of helping hundreds of thousands of refugees to survive, to acquire legal status and to attain economic independence. For the stateless refugees under his care, Nansen created the “Nansen passport,” which was ultimately ratified by 52 countries.

The International Red Cross and a number of governments then asked him to organize a relief programme for millions of victims of the Russian Famine of 1921-1922. Nansen won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1922. He was involved in the negotiations which led to the 1923 Treaty of Lausanne between the Greek and Turkish governments and later tried to help find a solution to the Armenian crisis. Nansen died in 1930.

To promote greater interest in the refugee cause and keep alive the humanitarian spirit of Nansen, the first UN High Commissioner for Refugees, G. H. van Heuven Goedhart, instituted the Nansen Refugee Award in 1954. The award is given out yearly to a person or group deemed to have performed outstanding services in supporting refugees. The aim of the Nansen Award is to focus attention on the plight of refugees and to encourage international assistance and cooperation for them.

The monetary prize that comes with the Nansen Award is donated by the governments of Norway and Switzerland to support a refugee project of the laureate’s choice.

2017 Nansen Award Winner

 

Our 2017 winner is Mr. Zannah Mustapha – a lawyer, school-founder and peace-maker from north east Nigeria. Mustapha was honoured during the Nansen Refugee Award ceremony on 2 October for his dedication and commitment to ensuring children and orphans affected by the conflict in Borno State can attend school.

Read more about this incredible winner.

List of previous Awardees

2016 Nansen Award Winners – The Hellenic Rescue Team and Efi Latsoudi – Greek Volunteer

A volunteer sea rescue team credited with saving thousands of lives during the refugee crisis, and a human rights activist who provided safety for thousands of the refugees arriving on Greek shores, are joint winners of the award.

2015 Nansen Award Winner – Afghan refugee teacher Aqeela Asifi

Afghan refugee teacher Aqeela Asifi, who has dedicated her life to bringing education to refugee girls in Pakistan, has won the 2015 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award.

2014 Nansen Award Winner – Butterflies with New Wings Building a Future

The award-winner is a network of nine women’s rights groups provides counsel and support for victims of abuse, and reaches out into communities to educate women to uphold their rights.

2013 Nansen Award Winner – Sister Angelique Namaika

Sister Angélique Namaika wins for her work helping the survivors of displacement and abuse by the Lord’s Resistance Army in Democratic Republic of the Congo.

'
;

南森難民獎

南森難民獎於1954年設立,每年頒發予對難民工作有卓越貢獻的個人或組織,以喚起公眾對難民苦況的關注及鼓勵國際社會施以援助。

背景

南森難民獎前身為南森獎章,是紀念挪威極地探險家弗里德托夫‧南森(Fridtjof Nansen)而設立。1921年,在聯合國成立之先,他出任世界上首位國際聯盟難民事務高級專員。南森難民獎每年頒發一次,授予為難民事務作出傑出貢獻的個人或組織一枚紀念獎章及10萬美元獎金。

生於1861年的南森不僅是一位出色的科學家、外交官及政治家,憑著他對人的熱情和關愛,他更是一個人道主義者。此外,南森好學不倦的性格讓他在學術上一些冷門的領域如動物學、海洋生物學、海洋學、地質學、人類學及社會學等都有著前瞻的成就。1889年當時只有20多歲的南森以滑雪板橫越格陵蘭,此舉讓他一夕成名。

不過南森一直最為後世所稱道的,便是他在難民事務上承先啟後的貢獻。第一次世界大戰結束後,國際聯盟在1920年委以南森重任,著他安排45萬名戰爭囚犯返國,而南森亦在政府及志願機構的支持下,取得空前的成功。

1921年,國際聯盟設立難民事務高級專員一職,並以南森出任首為專員,這無疑更奠定了南森不凡的領導魅力。上任不久,他便急不及待的處理棘手的難題,著力保障數以百計難民的安全,並幫助他們獲得合法身份及經濟自立的能力。對於無國籍人士,南森又特別的為他們安排一本最終獲得52個國家認可的「南森護照」。

在1921-1922年蘇聯發生饑荒期間,國際紅十字會及多國政府促請南森籌組救援項目去脤濟數以百萬的災民。當中的貢獻,為他在1922年帶來諾貝爾和平獎的殊榮。除此之外,南森亦參與希臘及土耳其之間的斡旋,促成雙方在1923年簽署「洛桑條約」,並其後協助美國危機尋求解決方案。南森終在1930年結束傳奇的一生,享年69歲。

為了爭取難民的福祉及延續南森對人道工作的熱誠,第一任聯合國難民事務高級專員范•歌德哈特 (G. H. van Heuven Goedhart) 在1954年成立了南森難民獎,每年頒發予對難民工作有卓越貢獻的個人或組織,以喚起公眾對難民苦況的關注及鼓勵國際社會施以援助。

南森難民獎的10萬美元獎金由挪威及瑞士政府聯合捐助,以作為對難民項目的支持。

2017年得獎者

扎納•穆斯塔法( Zannah Mustapha),一位為尼日利亞東北部戰火中流離失所兒童爭取教育權利的人士,被提名為聯合國難民署 2017年南森難民獎得主。

扎納•穆斯塔法於2007年在尼日利亞博爾諾州首府邁杜古里創辦了一所學校,這裡是「博科聖地」 武裝暴力的中心地帶。 該武裝暴力使乍得湖地區的2萬平民不幸遇害,成千上萬人無家可歸。 這所學校在暴亂中持續開放。

該學校為戰火中的兒童免費提供教育,還有食物、校服和醫療衛生服務。 衝突雙方因戰火而成為孤兒的孩子們,在扎納課堂都受到了歡迎。扎納希望通過接收雙方的兒童,象徵他想實現雙方和解的心願。

了解他的得獎故事

歷屆南森難民獎得奬者

2016得獎者 – 希臘海上救援隊 (The Hellenic Rescue Team) 和Efi Latsoudi ─ 希臘志願者

在2015年的難民危機期間成功挽救數千生命的一支海上志願者救援隊,以及為數千抵達希臘海岸的難民提供安全庇護的人權活動家,共同獲得此人道主義殊榮。

2015年南森難民獎得獎者: 艾琪拉.阿斯菲(AQEEL A ASIFI) 女士─ 阿富汗女童教育開拓者

過去20多年來,她一直在難民營內致力推動難民女童教育,確保孩子們接受教育的權利不被剝削,她因此獲得該項殊榮,表揚她為教育堅持不懈的付出。

 

2014得獎者 – 蝴蝶 (Butterflies with New Wings Building a Future)

本年度得獎者「蝴蝶」是一個捍衞婦女權益的互助網絡,致力為被虐者提供輔導及支援,避免讓婦女受到暴力和敲詐的傷害。

2013得獎者 – 安琪莉.那麥卡修女 (Sister Angélique Namaika)

安琪莉.那麥卡修女因幫助被上帝抵抗軍(Lord’s Resistance Army, LRA) 強暴及虐待的流離失所的婦女重過新生,獲頒南森難民獎,表揚她過去多年幫助無數受創婦女的成就。