Field Office Tehran

FOT’s area of responsibility (AOR) covers 16 provinces, including but not limited to, Tehran, Alborz, Esfahan, Qom, Semnan, Qazvin, West Azerbaijan, Kurdistan, Kermanshah, and in total hosts over 503,400 refugees. This represents 63 per cent of Iran’s total refugee population of 762,000.

 There are eight settlements in FOT’s AOR. The two settlements located in Semnan and Saveh cities are the largest among them. “Mohajerin” settlement hosts 3,943 Afghan refugees. It has a total area of 30 km² and is located 14km southeast of Semnan city; the settlement was initially established in 1985 to accommodate the first wave of refugees into the province. “Shahid Naseri” settlement is situated 25km from Saveh city and hosts 5,200 Afghan refugees, living in 920 shelters.

Contact Details:


UNHCR, Field Office Tehran

No. 3, East Emdad Street

Shiraz Ave., Vanak,

Tehran 19917

Islamic Republic of Iran


Working Hours: Sunday to Thursday/ 08:30-15:30

Email: [email protected] 

Reception Tel: (+98-21) 88212520

Office Tel: (+98-21) 42939

Fax: (+98-21) 89349900