Mount Lebanon (Beirut)

The Governorates of Beirut and Mount Lebanon are considered the heart of Lebanon’s social, economic, political and cultural activities. Beirut is predominantly urban, while Mount Lebanon has urban and rural areas.  Administratively, Mount Lebanon is divided into six districts, namely Jbeil, Keserwan, Metn, Aley, Baabda and Chouf.

The local population in Beirut and Mount Lebanon is estimated to be around two million persons. As of 31 December 2022, Beirut and Mount Lebanon Governorates host 177,782 registered Syrian refugees. Additionally, there are around 10,000 refugees and asylum-seekers from other countries such as Iraq and Sudan.

UNHCR’s office in Mount Lebanon has agreements with six partners that implement projects, and a network of 152 refugee and Lebanese outreach volunteers to assist refugee families living throughout the area that spans 7 districts (62 villages in Beirut and Mount Lebanon).


UNHCR S&K building
Nicolas Ibrahim Sursock St.
Beirut, Lebanon