Almaty Process Events

Regional Conference on Refugee Protection and International Migration in Central Asia, Almaty, Kazakhstan, 14 – 16 March 2011

In 2011, at the Regional Conference on Refugee Protection and International Migration in Central Asia, participants recognized the importance of developing national policies to protect people on the move, called for measures to prevent and combat trafficking in persons and provide effective protection to the victims of this crime, and drew attention to the importance of finding solutions to mixed population movements. They also recognized the importance of enhancing cooperation to control irregular migration, secure borders, and address security concerns by implementing border management in a way that preserves the asylum space and is consistent with international law. Through the unanimous adoption of the Almaty Declaration, participating States, including the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Turkey, and Turkmenistan committed to establishing enhanced regional cooperation on mixed migration.

Regional Cooperation Framework and Regional Action Plan on Refugee Protection and International Migration, Almaty, Kazakhstan, 7 September 2012

Since the 2011 regional conference, the Central Asian States (the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Tajikistan and Turkmenistan) made significant strides towards translating the Almaty Declaration into action. In 2012, they nominated National Coordinators at the Vice-Ministerial level and endorsed the Regional Cooperation Framework and Regional Action Plan. The Regional Cooperation Framework seeks to foster regional dialogue and practical cooperation on issues of common concern and to build the capacities of States and other stakeholders to respond to challenges raised by mixed movements in a more predictable, efficient and protection-sensitive manner. The Regional Action Plan provides concrete actions to that end. Participants further concluded in recommendations on the preparations for the launching of the Almaty Process.

Ministerial Conference on Refugee Protection and International Migration: The Almaty Process, Almaty, Kazakhstan, 5 June 2013

The Almaty Process was operationalized on 5 June 2013 during the Ministerial Conference on Refugee Protection and International Migration in Almaty, Kazakhstan. The Conference resulted in two outcome documents. The Communiqué reaffirms the commitment of States to address the multiple challenges resulting from mixed migration movements in broader Central Asia through regional dialogue, practical cooperation and the establishment of appropriate national legal frameworks to ensure the human rights of migrants, access to international protection for those in need, and durable solutions for refugees. The Communiqué also formally endorsed the Operating Modalities for the Almaty Process which set out the objectives of the Process, outline its membership, the terms of reference of the Chairmanship and the Support Unit, the participation of observers and the frequency of meetings. The Communiqué and the Operating Modalities were endorsed by the participating States, including the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Turkey and Turkmenistan. The Islamic Republic of Iran holds Observer status in the Process.

Мероприятия

Региональная конференция по защите беженцев и международной миграции в Центральной Азии, Алматы, Казахстан, 14-16 марта 2011 года

В 2011 году участники Региональной конференции по защите беженцев и международной миграции в Центральной Азии признали важность разработки государственных мер для защиты перемещаемого населения, призвали к действиям по предотвращению торговли людьми и борьбе с нею и эффективной защите жертв этого преступления, а также привлекли внимание к важности поиска решений проблем смешанной миграции. Они также признали важность усиления сотрудничества для контроля нерегулярной миграции, укрепления границ и решения вопросов безопасности за счет организации пограничного контроля с сохранением пространства для убежища и соблюдением международного права. Единогласно приняв Алматинскую декларацию, страны-участницы, включая Исламскую Республику Афганистан, Азербайджанскую Республику, Исламскую Республику Иран, Республику Казахстан, Кыргызскую Республику, Российскую Федерацию, Республику Таджикистан, Турецкую Республику и Туркменистан, приняли на себя обязательство расширить региональное сотрудничество по вопросам смешанной миграции.

Региональная рамочная структура сотрудничества и Региональный план действий по защите беженцев и международной миграции, Алматы, Казахстан, 7 сентября 2012 года

Со дня проведения региональной конференции в 2011 году центральноазиатские страны (Республика Казахстан, Кыргызская Республика, Республика Таджикистан и Туркменистан) приложили значительные усилия, чтобы воплотить в действие принципы Алматинской декларации. В 2012 году они назначили Национальных координаторов на уровне вице-министров и утвердили Региональную рамочную структуру сотрудничества и Региональный план действий. Региональная рамочная структура сотрудничества призвана усилить региональный диалог и практическое сотрудничество по вопросам, представляющим общий интерес, и укрепить потенциал стран-участниц и других заинтересованных сторон для более предсказуемого и эффективного решения проблем, связанных со смешанным перемещением, с учетом необходимости обеспечения защиты. Региональный план действий предусматривает конкретные шаги в этом направлении. Участники также выработали рекомендации по подготовке запуска Алматинского процесса.

Министерская конференция по защите беженцев и международной миграции: Алматинский процесс, Алматы, Казахстан, 5 июня 2013 года

Практическая реализация Алматинского процесса началась 5 июня 2013 года во время Министерской конференции по защите беженцев и международной миграции в Алматы, Казахстан. Во время Конференции было принято два документа. Коммюнике подтверждает обязательства государств решать многочисленные задачи, обусловленные смешанной миграцией в Центральной Азии, посредством регионального диалога, практического сотрудничества и формирования соответствующих национальных нормативно-правовых баз для обеспечения прав человека для мигрантов, доступа к международной защите нуждающимся в ней и долговременных решений для беженцев. Коммюнике также официально утвердило Операционный механизм Алматинского процесса, в котором определены цели Процесса, обозначено членство, сфера полномочий Председателя и Службы поддержки, участие наблюдателей и периодичность проведения совещаний. Коммюнике и Операционный механизм были утверждены странами-участницами, включая Исламскую Республику Афганистан, Азербайджанскую Республику, Исламскую Республику Иран, Республику Казахстан, Кыргызскую Республику, Исламскую Республику Пакистан, Республику Таджикистан, Турецкую Республику и Туркменистан. Исламская Республика Иран имеет статус государства-наблюдателя в Процессе.